A Gentleman’s Life

Nick here and Welcome to A Gentleman’s Life. I am going to show you the ways of the world, and it will be good. I figure when I’m not yelling at you guys in Nick Hates Everything I can show you how to live so as to not anger me as much as you do all the time. This is going to be a place to discuss man things like suits and whiskey. At some point I will probably do a very in-depth exploration of bow ties, because as we all learned from The Doctor, “bow ties are cool“. But this time I’m going to tell you not what to tie around your throat, but what to shove in your ears. Today’s subject is… Hit the jump to find out (I’m such a tease).

Holy $π*† You Guys, You Need To Go Buy This Album Right Now.

The HeistMacklemore-and-Ryan-Lewis-1000x500

I just finished listening to The Heist by Macklemore and Ryan Lewis for the third time in two days. It’s the one with that Thrift Shop song you’ve heard so much lately on it. First of all if you didn’t buy this album just based on that song alone you’re silly and you need training. This album has so much in it, so many reasons to listen, and for a reason I’ll tell you about in a minute it’s actually one of the most important albums to come out in a while.

Thrift Shop And Gold Are The Most Fun You Can Have While Listening To Music

You’ve all seen the video for Thrift Shop, right? If not here it is, educate yourself.

Are you done yet? Could you get through it without dancing? Don’t lie to me, I know when you’re lying. This song is nearly perfect, For a culture where image is everything and money is nowhere, the only solution was to turn thrift shops, which were designed to clothe the homeless, into a treasure trove of forgotten jewels. Designers saw this happening and started making clothes that look like something someone would have bought in the 70s and thrown away, and that means that now it’s fashion! How cool is that? You can buy a shirt at the thrift shop for 2 bucks and wear it around as if you just picked it up a some little boutique in the village, it was really fun, but it was a lot of hiding, until now, now we can loudly declare:

I wear your granddad’s clothes
I look incredible
I’m in this big ass coat
From that thrift shop down the road

As for the song Gold, that’s just too much fun, I mean come on:

That girl ain’t even gold, she just got golden girl titties
I’m kidding, everyone is gold in my city
You paint Betty White gold, even Betty White can get it
Get it get it get it..

Starting Over Will Make You Weep Like A Little Girl.

This is the saddest song I’ve heard since Otherside, which interestingly enough is also by Macklemore and Ryan Lewis and discusses Macklemore’s own struggles with drugs and alcohol. This song is about three years after he began his sobriety trying to explain to his friends and family and fans that he had a relapse.

But before I can make it somebody stops me and says are you Macklemore?
Maybe this isn’t the place or time
I just wanted to say that if it wasn’t for Otherside I wouldn’t have made it
I just look down at the ground and say thank you
She tells me she has 9 months and that she’s so grateful
Tears in her eyes, looking like she’s gonna cry.. fuck!
I barely got 48 hours, treated like I’m some wise monk

Otherside was the first time I heard of Macklemore and Ryan Lewis a couple of years ago. It’s odd to see them become so famous for a song like Thrift Shop. Don’t get me wrong, I love that song, but it’s different from what I’m used to from them. It was like when David Gordon Green became famous for directing Pineapple Express after I’d spent years watching movies from him like George Washington and All The Real Girls. Pineapple Express is a hilarious and awesome movie, but it’s so far removed from Green’s previous body of work.

I guess the lesson here is that Macklemore is really good at writing about substance abuse.

Same Love Is An Absolutely Necessary Anthem For Our Time

Same Love is, first off, a really good song, also, it’s absolutely necessary. Remember earlier when i told you this is an important album. This is why. This song holds a light up to the gay rights movement in a way that hasn’t been done enough, from the point of view of a supportive straight man. This perspective reminds us that this isn’t just a fight for gay people, this is everyone’s fight. There is no time to sit on the sidelines regardless of your sexuality. It’s a fight for anyone and everyone who refuses to live in an unjust world. I for one do not want to live on a planet with countries that outlaw someone’s identity, I do not want to live in a country that outlaws their right to spend their life with the person they choose. This is all of our fight, and now our fight has an anthem.

If I was gay, I would think hip-hop hates me
Have you read the YouTube comments lately
“Man, that’s gay” gets dropped on the daily
We become so numb to what we’re saying
A culture founded from oppression

Actually Buy It, You Thieving Internet Pirates

So that covers a number of reasons why you should have this album, now here’s why you should actually buy it instead of stealing it. This is their fist big album, it took them two years to get it after releasing one of the best EP’s I’ve ever heard. Let’s make sure they get another, lets show those big bad record executives how much we love their work and make a point of letting them know we want more. It’s also not going to hurt to make Same Love as visible as possible. So buy it. It’s ten buck on iTunes. It won’t kill you.

Leave a Reply

